If my husband had an affair…

Cast your cares on the Lord and He will sustain you; He will never let the righteous be shaken. (Psalm 55:22 NIV)

I saw this video by Beth Moore on Youtube, and thought it to be a reality check for us wives. If my husband had an affair, then what? We can all agree that it would be hard to deal with. It would feel crushing to our spirit. It would be life changing. It would be damaging to our thought of our husband. But I know that if that happened, I would drop to the floor, call on Jesus for strength, and seek Him daily for recovery. Without Him, it would be impossible to recover. If my husband had an affair it would be horrific. Some of us cannot even say those words out loud. Do you agree it would be one of the biggest tests of our faith? It is unimaginable the pain. You don’t even want to take your thoughts there. But there is hope in Jesus and truth in His word.

This is where we replace fears with truth. This is where we replace fear with faith. Matthew chapter 6 talks about worrying. You can play the “what ifs” game all day, but scripture answers those thoughts. Luke 12:25,26 NIV “Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to your life? Since you cannot do this very little thing, why do you worry about the rest?” Worrying and playing the “what ifs” game does nothing for your life. Worrying about if your husband has an affair will not change what God will do through you. So here is our answer. 1 Peter 5:6,7 NIV “Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that He may lift you up in due time. Cast all your anxiety on Him because He cares for you.” God cares for you. No matter what life brings. No matter if your husband fails you, God will not fail you. So what will I do if one of the worse things happens to my marriage? I will humble myself before the Lord. In due time, He will lift me up. I know this because He has done it in my past with other trials I’ve had. The truth is God will lift me up. He will be by my side. He will be my shoulder when I cry, my strength when I want to give up, and He will continue in my heart when I don’t feel anything there. I can give Him all my fears and anxiety because I am under His mighty hand. God has a purpose for all of us. We must show Him we trust Him always. Always and in all ways we must rely on Jesus.

Psalm 55:1,2 (NLT) “Listen to my prayer, O God. Do not ignore my cry for help! Please listen and answer me, for I am overwhelmed by my troubles.”

Isaiah 41:10 (NLT) “Don’t be afraid, for I am with you. Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you. I will hold you up with my victorious right hand.” See? No need to fear. Answer your fears with faith.

Here is the video. Beth Moore goes on down the road of “ifs” and it seems scary to process. I agree with her in this instance. I will stand up and continue life, because God is real. He is real in my soul and He will never forsake me. Amen ladies. Be encouraged, you are not doing life alone. Replace your fears with faith. God’s word is truth. 

Leave a Reply

