31 Days of Proverbs: Day 25

Chapter 25:

Women gossip. That is our reputation and it is what men expect from us. “Telling lies about others is as harmful as hitting them with an ax, wounding them with a sword, or shooting them with a sharp arrow.” verse 18 (NLT). Is it fair for this to be our reputation? I know women, few, that do not gossip. I mean they do not gossip at all! Let me be open with you. I have and do keep secrets, but I am definitely guilty of gossip. Most of us have in our lives participated in one way or another. Lies or the truth, gossip is gossip. There are several places in Proverbs that tells us why gossip is not good for the soul and how it truly hurts others. We know that. We know it hurts someone, wherever they are, they are being hurt by the exchange of information. So why do we gossip? To be honest, sometimes I’m confused as to what exactly classifies as gossip. Seriously. Most times it’s very evident that exchanging this information is purely gossip and I don’t want any part of it. But what about getting something off your chest about someone? What about situations you’ve experienced personally with someone and you add them to another conversation? Like with everything, we need to ask what does God say about it? Gossips reveal secrets; don’t associate with those who talk too much.” Proverbs 20:19 (CEB). Another verse says, “If those who claim devotion to God don’t control what they say, they mislead themselves. Their devotion is worthless.” James 1:26 (CEB). That is just a few of the many verses the bible has on gossip. For more information write in the comments or do a google search of what the bible says about gossip. It is very clear God does not want us to associate with those that cannot keep secrets or those who talk too much. In Ephesians chapter 4, it says to only say things to encourage each other and build each other up. That is clear and present truth. Now, what to do about gossip. If you aren’t sure, then don’t repeat it. My new rule of thumb, if I have doubt about it then I shouldn’t say it. If someone is talking to me and it sounds like gossip, redirect the conversation to something positive. Or if I can offer prayer for the person, I will offer prayer or help but end the conversation right there. Do I want this same thing said about me? How do I look to the person I’m talking to about another person? Remember, if it sounds like gossip, it is gossip. “Fire goes out without wood, and quarrels disappear when gossip stops.” Proverbs 26:20

“As surely as a north wind brings rain, so a gossiping tongue causes anger!” Proverbs 25:23 NLT

Leave a Reply

