31 Days of Proverbs: Day 11

Day 11, Chapter 11:

This chapter opens with how much the Lord hates liars. “The Lord detests the use of dishonest scales, but He delights in accurate weights.” All lies bring dishonor to the Lord for us that call ourselves His children. That includes small lies or “white lies.” It’s like when you were growing up and your family had something they were known for or known for not doing. Maybe like, the Robertson’s hunt, the Jones’ don’t play football they’re a baseball family, or the Browns always tell it like it is. It is similar to a family code of ethics, family words to live by, family creed, or family pride. We, as Christians, don’t want to be known for lying and doing dishonest things. It’s in our family creed. The Lord detests liars or dishonest scales because it always hurts someone else. Using dishonest means for gain, lying in general, or cheating always effects someone or someones. We don’t think about that part. When I have lied, I never considered anyone else who could and would be affected. That is why God is the Master and the Heavenly Father. He sees those that are affected by dishonesty and how it hurts. We could do the same method I mentioned a few days ago, follow the path. We could follow the path of who and what dishonesty affects. But if we had that much time to think before spewing a lie, we wouldn’t be liars, hopefully. But since most times lies come out so quickly, it’s hard to catch them. That is why the Lord tells us to be honest and be a person of truth. In this way we won’t have to chase the lie around and find out where it’s going. We won’t have to plot or scheme or think of cover ups. One lie usually leads to another, and another, and another. I learned that the hard way. I used to lie so much in my preteen years. I mean nonsense lies. Like why even lie about that? After many hard lessons, I learned it was way too exhausting being a liar. The older I got the less I lied because it was less stressful, and not because I was thinking about others. By the time I got out of college I told myself it doesn’t matter how much it hurts, honesty is easier than keeping up with a lie. Later I changed my thought process after getting married. I realized, through the Holy Spirit, that it wasn’t just about stress on me or how I’m affected. Being dishonest affects many people and most times it’s painful, that is why it’s hard to come back from a lie given. I’d like to tell you that I don’t ever lie anymore but that would be a lie. I will tell you, that majority of the time I choose the truth even when I know there are consequences. When my husband set a budget for groceries, I used to spend a little on this for me or a little on that for the kids, etc. It was my grocery budget, what did it matter to him or anyone else, right? But when my grocery funds would run out faster than expected I feared telling my husband the full story. Yes, omitting information is still lying because you are not giving full disclosure of necessary info. I didn’t want to tell him, but I prayed first, then called my husband and told him the full story. He was upset as you would expect. But my husband wasn’t upset because of buying things for me or our kids. He was upset because I was co-mingling funds and I only needed to tell him so we could set a separate budget, a miscellaneous fund. No matter what, I am so grateful for that experience and how it reassured me of how much honesty brings peace.

“The Lord detests people with crooked hearts, but He delights in those with integrity.” Proverbs 11:20 NLT

Leave a Reply

