31 Days of Proverbs: Day 10

Day 10, Chapter 10:

How do we choose to live? We all have plans to eat right, spend wisely, and be “prosperous” in a new year. I am definitely guilty of this. I have been on vacation and missed a few days but please feel free to share your thoughts in the comments about Proverbs. Already, I have broken a link in the chain of my plans to read a chapter a day. It really bums you out when you miss a day or fail at a goal. Well I’m just being honest. The blessing is I can pick up and try again. When we sin, it hurts and we feel the failure. But in Christ, we sin, get corrected, and can pick up and try again. But try harder and lean on Jesus to be successful. We can all find correcting in chapter 10. If maybe by now, nothing has applied to your life in Proverbs, I bet it does here in chapter 10. “Tainted wealth has no lasting value, but right living can save your life.” “Lazy people are soon poor; hard workers get rich.” Now remember what we learned, wealth and riches does not only apply to monetary gains or material things. It applies to health and spiritual riches as well. Not much to discuss in verse 2 & 4 above, it is point blank. Hard workers get rich in health by working hard at fitness, exercise, proper eating, and health management. Hard workers get rich in their careers by reaching higher levels, better work management, setting goals, meeting goals, organizing, and being diligent. My favorite verse, and it mostly applies to me, is verse 19, “Too much talk leads to sin. Be sensible and keep your mouth shut.” How true is that for most women? Anyone really. My eyes went wide open and my jaw dropped when I first read it. I thought no way is that in the bible?! But I’m so glad it is there, bold, and in my face. When I think about the times I’ve gotten myself into trouble, it was because I didn’t know when to shut up. Quickly my expression changed and I saw the honest truth in the verse and want to make that change. So what would be wise? Seek God and connect with others on the matter, as we’ve been learning. Proverbs31.org ministries has an online bible study titled “Keep It Shut,” subtitle “what to say, how to say it, and when to say nothing at all.” It starts soon and is completely free. Click here, for details on this book and the Proverbs31 online bible study. The time we are spending in Proverbs is to wise us up, take notes, and be hard working in areas we want to see change. I want to remember everything we’ve read so far, but that is impossible. What is possible is to make sticky notes of my favorite verses or key points. Review the notes I make and to revisit these notes throughout the year. 

“The hopes of the godly result in happiness, but the expectations of the wicked come to nothing.” Proverbs 10:28 NLT

Leave a Reply

