31 Days of Proverbs: Day 7

Day 7, Chapter 7:      

How many times so far in Proverbs, has the father urged his son to listen to his commands and obey him? It’s been in every single chapter so far. How many times did your mother or father try to convey the importance of message they were giving you? For me it was often times something I could quote. “Life and death is in the power of the tongue. Watch what you say Ashli” or “I never want somebody else to have to tell me about my child, so you better tell me first.” There are so many more idioms that were said to me by my parents repetitively. Topics of education, growth, self awareness, being humble, and personal hygiene. Oh how embarrassing and mostly annoying they were. But hey, I still remember them to this day and I will share those idioms with my kids. They repeated these idioms and lessons over and over so it would be embedded within me, just like Solomon is doing throughout Proverbs. Let’s continue. “He followed her at once, like an ox going to the slaughter. He was like a stag caught in a trap…” verse 22. Here “she” is again. That woman! Well “she” is both a literal warning for us to stay away from sly hearted people who set up to entice us. We know that path leads to death. But “she” is also a metaphor for all things that glitter but are not gold. Certain decisions are traps and we can see it from the beginning but we don’t pay attention to the warning signs. We are also like the bird in verse 23, sometimes we do not see the snare and fly right into it. As we set goals for 2015 for our marriage and personal life, stay observant of your surroundings. Protect your marriage at all costs. Discuss concerns with your husband and listen to any concerns of his. Something my uncle William always told me “Keep your wits about you” and my mother would always tell me “watch your surroundings” “be careful of the company you keep.” What wise words that have come to memory in the right moments throughout my life. The Holy Spirit has always reminded me of wise words from family and others while also showing me warning signs in certain situations. Did I always listen? Of course not. But that was in my youth and I’m grateful they were youthful mistakes. But as an adult choices can be harder lessons to learn and I want to make sure I listen to wisdom. This voice comes to all of us from the Holy Spirit. We only have to pay attention as Solomon divulges.  

Dear Lord, I am grateful for the warnings and advice that you send through people in my life. Help me to pay attention and be alert. Thank you for this message and reminder. In Jesus name, Amen. “Her house is the road to the grave. Her bedroom is the den of death” Proverbs 7:27

Leave a Reply

