31 Days of Proverbs: Day 3

Day 3, Chapter 3:    

So much to digest in chapter 3, I’m so excited about this new year after reading this chapter. Such great advice, “Never let loyalty and kindness leave you… Then you will find favor with God… and you will earn a good reputation.” In verses 3 & 4 we can apply that to every aspect of life. Being loyal in our marriage, jobs, friendships, relationships, and being loyal to our word will lead to a good reputation. It feels good when we are loyal to others and our word. There is less stress when we think first  about what we commit ourselves to, so that when we make that commitment, we are fully loyal to it. Verse 3 also says never let kindness leave you, this means everywhere we go and everywhere we are, we should wear our kindness. When I’m driving, walking by the homeless, when my husband demands too much from me or tests my patience… I need to wear my kindness everywhere I go! “Trust in the Lord” “seek His will in all you do” “don’t be impressed with your own wisdom” “honor the Lord with your wealth and with the best part of everything you produce. Then He will fill your barns…” How cool is that advice for the fresh start we need. So if I trust God, seek Him first in everything I do, don’t be haughty, and honor God with my finances by tithing and giving first fruits, He will bless me and fulfill my needs. But if I get caught up in thinking God will fill my barn with material things, then I’m not paying attention to who God is. Proverbs continues, in verse 15 “Wisdom is more precious than rubies; nothing you desire can compare with her.” That’s deep. Ok so honoring God with my wealth does not mean I’m going to get wealth in return. At least not the way the world sees wealth. Honoring God with my wealth (my mind, tithing, my body, and my spirit) will fill my barn with grain. Grains are the seeds to produce a field of food for me and my family. God will meet all our needs and seeking Him will give wisdom, which brings more opportunities than material things. With wisdom I can feed my family for years to come, but with rubies I only have the means temporarily.  

Heavenly Father, thank you for the tools that come with wisdom. Thank you for the doors that wisdom opens. So many of us look forward to a new year so that we can have a fresh start, maybe even a do-over. Please help us see that you are our fresh start. Help us to adhere to your advice and commit ourselves to you fully. Bless every person reading this right now. In Jesus name I pray, Amen. “for the Lord is your security. He will keep your foot from being caught in a trap.” Proverbs 3:26 NLT 

Leave a Reply

