Frustrated!

Frustration: the feeling of being upset or annoyed, especially because of inability to change or achieve something.

Hmm, how many times do we feel this emotion? Don’t answer that. But the point is that we all do feel frustration at some point in our week or month. Whether at work or home, frustration plagues us all because there are many things out of our control.

Well my husband frustrates me. Yes, I said it. I love him, wouldn’t trade him, and would do anything for him. BUT he frustrates me, sometimes. It’s ok to admit that. After I say that out loud, I feel honest relief. Sometimes we keep emotions to ourselves because we think they are bad emotions or feelings that no one, not even ourselves, should know about. That is not true ladies. God knows all about your thoughts and your feelings. He knew you were going to have those feelings about this man called your husband before you said “I do.” Guess what? God loves us even when we are frustrated with our husbands, who are blessings.

So humble yourselves under the mighty power of God, and at the right time He will lift you up in honor. Give all your worries [or frustrations] and cares to God, for He cares about you. (1 Peter 5:6,7 NLT)

Did that make you feel better? It helped me. So in the middle of that moment when you want to scream about your husband not picking up his clothes from the bathroom floor or all the hair left on the sink after he shaves… call on God. Or if you’re that person that holds all those screams inside trying to avoid nagging your husband or keeping the peace… call on God.

In the moments of feeling frustration humble yourself by remembering you have faults too. Do we as wives complete everything on time and in the right manner? No. Are we not human as well? Remembering that frustration comes from the inability to change or achieve something means we must go to the source who can change things. Since I cannot change my husband, his method of handling clothes, or how he sees best to shave, I can change my perspective. I can go to God for wisdom and ask for a new perspective. I can rely on God to help me change while He helps my husband and I reach a compromise.

Immediately we should go to God in prayer (while in the middle of our emotions) and ask Him for peace, clarity, and humility. Giving our worries and frustrations to God means to talk to Him about them like we would in regular conversation with our friends. Be open, truthful, and real in our talks with Him. In this way we are giving Him all our worries and frustrations.

3 Helpful Reminders When We are Frustrated:

Thank God in the situation.1 Thessalonians 5:18 “Give thanks in all circumstances.”  I am always thankful I have a husband living to be frustrated with over clothes. I am always grateful my husband is healthy and cares enough to groom.

Ask God to fill you with his love. 1 Corinthians 13:5 “[Love] is not easily angered.” Even though our husbands can frustrate us, we love them and they are a part of who we are. We are to love them more than ourselves, like the love Christ showed by dying on the cross for us. Unconditional love.

Ask yourself, “What can I learn from it?” Romans 8:28 “In all things God works for the good of those who love him.” I like this reminder. What can I learn from it? I can learn to change my perspective. How can I change my perspective? Through God and giving Him all my thoughts. By going to Him about all matters especially the matters out of my control, big or little. When the emotion starts to rise and frustration settles in, I can remember God is the only one big enough to change the situation that is out of my control.

*Note: The above helpful reminders were taken from here, with my added remarks. See The Five Steps for Handling Frustration by Rick Warren click here.

Leave a Reply

