I’ll believe it when I see it!

But even after all he did, you refused to trust the Lord your God… (Deuteronomy 1:32 NLT)

I found this scripture recently in my morning readings and it made me stop in my tracks. I’m no biblical scholar and I haven’t developed, yet, the talent for reading scriptures and immediately seeing a deep, deep, philosophical, transcending meaning that can relate to my life or those around me. I admire the leaders, pastors, and writers that have this talent or developed it over time. Every now and then I find that deep meaning, soul changing scripture on my own. For this blog I use events, hurdles, issues, or praises in my own life, then I research to find what God says about them, then I discuss it with you. But Deuteronomy 1:32 was one of those few that spoke to me immediately. I am so excited to share with you how beautiful this message is from God.

Moses is talking to the Israelites and reminding them of their journey since leaving Egypt. He is reminiscing on the good, bad, and ugly they have gone through in the wilderness and how God has been there the whole time. God has proven Himself to them over and over, but yet they still refused to trust Him. Who does this remind you of?

If we’re honest it reminds us of ourselves. There are times when I face complications in life, that did not happen to me but happened because of me. I caused these complications, so I tell myself, “how dare you go to God to fix it, when you caused it.” Like opening a credit card and not being responsible with it. Most issues that happen to us; loss of a job, sickness, car repairs, and unexpected events, we cry out to the Lord for help, as did the Israelites. But why not trust the Lord with all of the complications? The complications we cause and the ones that happen to us we should trust in God to do what He has done for us already.

Or there are times I have major trials in life and I know to lean on God and plug deep into scripture, family & friends, and rely on Jesus to get me through. But what about minor trials? I face many, day to day, minor “trials” that I try to fix on my own. Like my frustration with my husband over leaving the toothpaste out and after he washes his face, the splashes of water left on the sink. Or that his work boots are never placed in the closet, so I continually stub my toes on the boats he calls shoes (it’s really painful). My attempts at “fixing” these matters never work. It leads to arguments or miscommunication or I just come off as crazy to be concerned with such a small matter to him. Just like with the Israelites, when they tried to fix things on their own, matters only got worse.

So again, why not trust God, with the major trials as well as the minor ones? Hasn’t the Lord already done so much for you? Has He not revealed to you, personally, how much He loves you? Waking you up each day, providing for your household, the career you have, how you’ve reached this stage in life, or being blessed to be married… What about in your early childhood? He formed you in the womb, He protected you, He brought you through many hurdles in your life, accomplishments you’ve achieved, or the many friends and family members that really love you…

For the God that has done so much to this point in our lives, why don’t we first trust in Him? We should. He has proven himself more times than we can count. He has poured out blessings we don’t even notice at times. He has made promises and not broken them. His words are never trivial. He is never cavalier or verbose. In your past you have caused complications but God was there anyway and He delivered you from it. It was never as bad as it could have been. It was never the full extent of what you may have deserved. The Lord is the father we need and the father we have whenever we call. Just like a good parent, He loves you no matter what.

It is good what Moses does throughout Numbers and Deuteronomy. He looks back from time to time, at the things God has done for him and the people. He reminds the tribes of all the hurt, evil, horrible deaths, and hard events that has transpired. Then he recollects all the great, mighty, and powerful events that God has brought to them. This is what we should do often. We should look in the past, not to relive any pain, but only to see God’s glory. Everything you have experienced God showed you for a reason. Everything you did not experience, God allowed for a reason. Take time and thank God for the blessings you see in your life today. Reflect on blessings in your past and maybe search for things you asked for and the answer was No or Wait, and now you see why. This keeps our perspective girls.

But watch out! Be careful never to forget what you yourself have seen. Do not let these memories escape from your mind as long as you live! And be sure to pass them on to your children and grandchildren. (Deuteronomy 4:9 NLT)

Put a sticky note on the bathroom mirror “I will trust the Lord with all my heart because…” and list a few reasons why you should trust Him based on what He has already done for you. Make another sticky note that says “I will trust the Lord with every single situation in my life, major or minor, whether I caused it or not, because God is trustworthy and has already proven Himself.”

Get comfy tonight and share with your husband some of the blessings in your present and past. Encourage him to reflect on his own past and present. Take joy always in the one true God! Trust Him for He is trustworthy. Be blessed this week girls!

Leave a Reply

